The World’s End, perfect ending or one step too far?

Yes, I am back, did you miss me?! It has taken me a while but here I am, back again! 

So not only am I back, but are Pegg, Frost and Wright with their final installment of the ‘Cornetto trilogy’. The World’s End is the story of Gary King (Pegg) trying to reunite his childhood friends for another attempt at a mammoth 12 pub, pint in each pub, pub crawl in their home town. As the story unfolds the friends (Paddy Considine, Martin Freeman, Nick Frost and Eddie Marsan – the man with the most unique face of all time) have all grown up and lead separate, rather mundane lives except for Gary who is still the wild, drinking and smoking teen that he used to be – except now he has a serious drink problem. The plot takes a twist however when near the beginning of their drinking session they discover that their home town has actually been taken over by a race of alien robots who are inhabiting the bodies of their old friends and are hell bent on world domination, damn robots. 

For me, straight off the bat, this film was not as laugh out loud funny as Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz. I know this may make me a much disliked figure but I can assure you that I am a huge fan of these guys and I love their films, but this one for me was lacking a certain something.

The plot is perhaps just a touch too far out of the ordinary to get to grips with. This may make me sound nuts because the last films were about an outbreak of Zombies and killer villagers but in the previous two films they play on the stereotypes and genres that we are all familiar with. Everyone has surely seen or heard of zombies and zombies films and the village murder mystery is rife with your Morse’s and Midsummer Murders on every ten minutes on British TV. So perhaps the introduction of an alien race using Robots to take over the earth is just a touch too edgy for us to fully immerse ourselves in, just a touch. It’s like Peter Kay making a joke about a very specific type of hoover which because we haven’t used we don’t quite get the joke. Of course I know that’s the point, that they are not trying to be realistic, but before they have played so brilliantly on the cliches that the genres rely on but on this occasion because the plot is so out there they don’t really have the opportunity to do that. 

One thing I want to make clear is that I certainly did not dislike this film, in fact I enjoyed it very much. The cast is fantastic and they all put in very funny performances and they obviously had a great time making the film, it’s evident in each scene with the five main characters having a drink together. The script isn’t as pacey or as quotable as previous outings but it is still very well written and there are some real gems in the dialogue that take you by surprise, Nick Frost could give a masterclass on comic timing.

As with the other films the effects and the visuals of the film are great, the fight scenes are superb and are genuinely funny as well as being very well put together. This time we get to see Nick Frost being a real bad ass compared to the clumsy guy he has played in the last films. 

There has been a lot of talk in some of the press and on TV about whether or not they should have made this film or they should have just left it at Hot Fuzz and gone out on a high. Firstly I certainly don’t think that this film lets the others down, I don’t think it’s as good as the other two, but it is still a good film. Secondly yes I do think it should have been made. The story is still funny and it is always good to see certain elements of British life and culture poked fun at, which these guys do expertly. A great example of this is a scene where the lads go into two different pubs but because they pubs are owned by a chain they look exactly the same, anyone who has been to a chain pub in the UK will know how true that is.

For me there were two over riding feelings that hung over me as I left the cinema. The first one was that all in all this outing kind of felt like when Matthew Horne and James Corden, fresh from the success of Gavin and Stacey, were given their own show and their own film. It kind of felt like because Frost and Pegg are so big now they have been given total free reign to do that. That isn’t so bad in this case as the film is still good, but it sets a dangerous precedent. I truly hope they don’t make another film of the same ilk and don’t try to make the trilogy into a quartet. The second thing, which may make me sound old before my time, was that I didn’t love the fact that they kind of glorify drinking throughout  the film. Yes they mention the pitfalls but they really do make drinking seem terribly important. For me, the important aspect of the drinking is the social side of it, the chance to meet people and enjoy their company, whilst maybe having a drink. With this film, whilst Gary King has a drinking problem and so is obsessed with finishing the drinking quest, it does seem to put drinking on a pedestal. The characters seem to get funnier when they are drunk, they seem to be keen to get drunk so that they can enjoy themselves as best they can. Obviously I am not pretending that this kind of thing does not happen on a daily basis in England, but I just think a bit more care wouldn’t have hurt when they portrayed the use of alcohol in the film. Image

Right, gripe over. Overall I did enjoy the film, my ribs weren’t hurt from laughing or anything but I had a good time and I’m glad I got to see it in the cinema for the surround sound and big screen which really shows the film off. 

I give it 6/10

What did you think?! 

Until next time……

One thought on “The World’s End, perfect ending or one step too far?

  1. Sue

    First of all, I missed you!
    Secondly, it doesn’t make you sound old before your time commenting on the film glorifying heavy drinking – I think your comments are spot on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

